• COVID-19 Safety: Patrons must show proof of vaccination or a negative test within the last 72 hours. All patrons are expected to wear masks. No concessions will be sold at performances.
Performance Venue
Gunston Arts Center, Theatre Two
2700 S Lang Street
Arlington, VA 22206
Avant Bard Theatre Office
3700 S Four Mile Run Drive
Arlington, VA 22206
Get In Touch
703-418-4808
info@avantbard.org

Suddenly Last Summer

by Tennessee Williams

Suddenly Last Summer
May 25 – June 18, 2022

Set in the hothouse of New Orleans’ Garden District, Suddenly Last Summer has all the hallmarks of a Tennessee Williams masterpiece: exotic locales, tortured psyches, glorious, lyrical language, and Williams’ gift for creating vivid, unforgettable characters. An elderly socialite mourns the death of her poet son, who died under mysterious circumstances while vacationing at an island resort. Eager to protect her son’s image, she hires a doctor to silence the only witness to the tragic event–but the shattering truth fights its way to the surface, as it always does in Williams’ world. In the great Avant Bard tradition of providing audiences an opportunity to see something they may have read but have never seen–or have seen the movie version but have never seen it on-stage–audiences can learn first-hand what happened last summer, and experience the unique and exhilarating beauty of this quintessential Williams classic.

This production includes a prologue of “Talk to Me Like the Rain and Let Me Listen” by Tennessee Williams featuring Jonathan Del Palmer as man and Miss Kitty as Woman.

Performance Days and Times

Wednesday, May 25 Performance (Preview 1) 7:30P
Thursday, May 26 Performance (Preview 2) 7:30P
Friday, May 27 Performance (Preview 3) 7:30P
Saturday, May 28 Performance (Preview 4) 7:30P
Sunday, May 29 Performance (Opening) 2:00P
Thursday, June 2 Performance 7:30P
Friday, June 3 Performance 7:30P
Saturday, June 4 Performance 7:30P
Sunday, June 5 Performance 2:00P
Thursday, June 9 Performance 7:30P
Friday, June 10 Performance 7:30P
Saturday, June 11 Performance 2:00P
Saturday, June 11 Performance 7:30P
Sunday, June 12 Performance 2:00P
Sunday, June 12 Performance 7:30P
Thursday, June 16 Performance 7:30P
Friday, June 17 Performance 7:30P
Saturday, June 18 Performance 2:00P
Saturday, June 18 Performance 7:30P

Audience Advisory

Please be advised that this production is for mature audiences. If you have questions or concerns, please call the box office or consult with house management at will call.


Cast

Catharine Holly: Sara Barker^
Violet Venable: Cam Magee
Mrs. Holly: Megan Morgan
Miss Foxhill: Miss Kitty
Dr. Cukrowicz: Matt Sparacino
Sister Felicity: Christine Hirrel
George Holly: Jonathan Del Palmer

Production Team

Director: Christopher Henley
Set Designer: David Ghatan
Lighting Designer: Hailey LaRoe
Costume Designer: Anna Marquardt
Props Designer: Liz Long
Sound Designer/Composer: Clay Teunis
Photos: DJ Corey Photography

^ Avant Bard Theatre Producing Partner