• COVID-19 Safety: Avant Bard requests patrons show proof of vaccination or a negative test within the last 72 hours. Avant Bard requests patrons wear face masks for the safety of the performers.
Performance Venue
Gunston Arts Center, Theatre Two
2700 S Lang Street
Arlington, VA 22206
Avant Bard Theatre Office
3700 S Four Mile Run Drive
Arlington, VA 22206
Get In Touch
703-418-4808
info@avantbard.org

Julius Caesar

by William Shakespeare

Julius Caesar
March 9 – April 1, 2023

Join us as we explore Kathleen Akerley’s modernization of Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar with an ensemble of nine actors. Witness a dismantling of the classic story that asks what determines historical outcomes: the ambition and speeches of a few or the shifting personalities and demands of the citizenry? Video and contemporary text will place this question squarely in post-2016 America.

Performance Days and Times

Thursday, March 9, 7:30 pm (Preview)
Friday, March 10, 7:30 pm (Preview)
Saturday, March 11, 2:00 pm (Preview)
Saturday, March 11, 7:30 pm (Preview)
Sunday, March 12, 2:00 pm (Opening)

Thursday, March 16 7:30 pm
Friday, March 17 7:30 pm
Saturday, March 18 2:00 pm
Saturday, March 18 7:30 pm
Sunday, March 19 2:00 pm

Thursday, March 23, 7:30 pm
Friday, March 24, 7:30 pm
Saturday, March 25, 2:00 pm
Saturday, March 25, 7:30 pm
Sunday, March 26, 2:00 pm

Thursday, March 30, 7:30 pm
Friday, March 31, 7:30 pm
Saturday, April 1, 2:00 pm
Saturday, April 1, 7:30 pm (Closing)


Cast

Mason Catharini
Sophia Colon Roosevelt
Jonathan Del Palmer
Chris Galindo
Chris Holbert
Kiana Johnson
Seamus Miller*
Emily Sucher

Production Team

Director: Kathleen Akerley
Producers: Avant Bard Producing Partners
Stage Manager: Sarah McCarthy
Set Designer: Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden
Lighting Designer: Hailey LaRoe
Costume Designer: Amanda Jackson
Props Designer: Liz Long
Sound Designer/Composer: Neil McFadden
Box Office Manager: Brian Ash
Photos: DJ Corey Photography

Technical Team

Technical Director: Jarrod DiGiorgi
Master Electrician: Joe Miller

* Member of Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States.