• COVID-19 Safety: Patrons must show proof of vaccination or a negative test within the last 72 hours. All patrons are expected to wear masks.
Performance Venue
Gunston Arts Center, Theatre Two
2700 S Lang Street
Arlington, VA 22206
Avant Bard Theatre Office
3700 S Four Mile Run Drive
Arlington, VA 22206
Get In Touch
703-418-4808
info@avantbard.org

Ada and The Engine

by Lauren Gunderson

Ada and the Engine
Mar 2 – 26, 2022

Ada Lovelace, the only legitimate child of the amorous poet Lord Byron, had a love of her own: mathematics. Well, that…plus  a certain polymath-inventor, Charles Babbage, famous as “the father of the computer.” It’s true that Babbage invented the hardware–the Analytic Engine–but the language, the song, the soul of the thing, the programming: that was all Ada. From prolific playwright Lauren Gunderson (author of the inspirational Emilie, which Avant Bard produced to great acclaim in 2017), Ada and the Engine is a whimsical scientific history sure to delight audiences. 

Performance Days and Times

Wednesday, March 2 Performance (1 st Preview) 7:30P
Thursday, March 3 Performance (2nd Preview) 7:30P
Friday, March 4 Performance (3rd Preview) 7:30P
Saturday, March 5 Performance (4th Preview) 2:00P
Saturday, March 5 Performance (Opening) 7:30P
Sunday, March 6 Performance 2:00P
Thursday, March 10 Performance 7:30P
Friday, March 11 Performance 7:30P
Saturday, March 12 Performance 2:00P
Saturday, March 12 Performance 7:30P
Sunday, March 13 Performance 2:00P
Thursday, March 17 Performance 7:30P
Friday, March 18 Performance 7:30P
Saturday, March 19 Performance 2:00P
Saturday, March 19 Performance 7:30P
Sunday, March 20 Performance 2:00P
Thursday, March 24 Performance 7:30P
Friday, March 25 Performance 7:30P
Saturday, March 26 Performance 2:00P
Saturday, March 26 Performance 7:30P


Cast

Ada Lovelace: Dina Soltan
Charles Babbage: Matthew Pauli
Lady Byron/Mary Somerville: Jessica Lefkow
Lord Lovelace/Lord Byron: Jon Reynolds

Production Team

Director: Megan Behm
Set Designer: David Ghatan
Lighting and Projections Designer: Ian Claar
Costume Designer: Alison Johnson
Props Designer: Liz Long
Sound Designer/Composer: Neil McFadden
Production Manager: Keta Newborn
Production Stage Manager: Sam Rollin
Rehearsal Stage Manager: Tsaitami Duchicela
Production Photos: DJ Corey Photography